The Church of the Covenant located at 67 Newbury Street in the Back Bay neighborhood of Boston, is a historic church and a National Historic Landmark. Built in 1865-1867 by the Central Congregational Church its stunning interior is defined by the work of Tiffany & Co.
Constructed in the Gothic Revival style with puddingstone it was one of the first churches to relocate to the Back Bay and was funded with donations by Benjamin Bates, an industrialist who founded Bates College. It has a 240-foot high steeple that looms over the Bunker Hill Monument. In the 1890s the sanctuary was re-modelled by Tiffany & Co. with stained-glass windows, mosaics and an electric-light chandelier. The church has the largest intact Tiffany-designed ecclesiastical interior in its original location in America.
The Tiffany windows are important elements of the exquisite Tiffany church interior. All totaled there are 42 Tiffany windows – 22 ornamental windows in the clerestory and 20 figure windows throughout the sanctuary. They all include “opalescent” glass with subtle tones and variations that create painterly effects. The windows were created by Tiffany’s finest designers in a variety of styles – linear, Pre-Raphaelite, mosaic. classical and Art Nouveau.
The church was designated a National Historic Landmark in 2012 (as “Central Congregational Church”) in recognition of its unique interior decorations.